Odamex Message Boards

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.  Did you miss your activation email?
September 02, 2014, 15:16:00
Pages: [1] Print
Author Thread: Experimental Client with 32bpp rendering and improved clipping  (Read 3298 times)
Manc
Fist to the face!
Posts: 76
Administrator

April 26, 2013, 10:06:45
NOTE: Please back up your odamex.cfg config file before attempting to use this client binary!

Coinciding with the release of Odamex 0.6.3, we are very pleased to showcase an experimental Odamex executable featuring a newly rewritten renderer. This renderer is in the separate source-code branch rend32 and will be replacing our standard renderer in future releases. This renderer is not entirely optimized and may have a small quirk here or there but we were too excited about it to keep it under wraps until its official debut in our forthcoming 0.7 version!
 
Wall rendering and view clipping has been rewritten in the rend32 branch to be dramatically more accurate than the ZDoom 1.22 renderer used in previous versions. This prevents integer overflow bugs that occur in really tall sectors, textures that appear to wiggle or jump on long linedefs, and walls that appear to move when you look along their length.
 
The rend32 branch also features 32-bit color rendering, allowing proper shading of colors in dark areas of the map instead of colors becoming washed-out due to palette limitations. Also dramatically improved is translucency, making blue text on the HUD much more clear. We can't thank James Dunne enough for his contribution of the 32-bit color feature!

32bpp example:  http://imgur.com/5kkW9Sb,GsBTFof (You should probably be able to tell which is which!)

Download:
For windows users only: http://odamex.net/dev/rend32/odamex.exe
For other platforms, please svn checkout http://odamex.net/svn/root/branches/rend32 and build the client

Usage:
  • vid_32bpp: Set to 1 for 32bpp renderering, 0 for standard 8bpp.  Default is 0.
  • vid_capfps: While you will not find truly uncapped fps, setting this to 1 will unblock the renderer and allow it to process as many frames as possible.  It will still however be locked to display 35fps.  Default is 0.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 08:32:48 by Manc »
Odamex Web Administrator
Logged View Profile | WWW
capodecima
Odaplayer
Posts: 88

April 27, 2013, 10:41:56
I have crashes on cybercrime3.wad with this client every 3 minutes or so. I use winXP.
Logged View Profile | WWW
HeX9109
Odamexican
Posts: 98
Administrator

April 28, 2013, 22:29:01


Slopes have a thin black line drawing around them that don't look quite right.
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Also join us at irc://irc.quakenet.org/odamex
Logged View Profile | WWW
DevilHunter
Posts: 1

May 02, 2013, 08:08:42
I like this very much. Makes doom better in software now. Great Job guys, even though I had a few minor problems, but after re-downloading the File, it works great now.
Logged View Profile | WWW
Dr. Sean
G'd up from tha feet up
Posts: 67
Developer

May 02, 2013, 08:55:21
Slopes have a thin black line drawing around them that don't look quite right.

I believe that is related to this rendering error:



There is a thin band of red above the entryway which should not be there. It indicates either the texture is offset incorrectly or that the texture is wrapping prematurely.
Odamex Development Team Member
Logged View Profile | WWW
HeX9109
Odamexican
Posts: 98
Administrator

May 03, 2013, 10:34:52
In legendary-35a.wad map01, you can look out of the base and see the rendering of things on another part of the map. This does not happen in the normal odamex client, however it does happen in the new client whether you use 32bpp rendering or 8bpp.

Screenshot provided.
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Also join us at irc://irc.quakenet.org/odamex
Logged View Profile | WWW
Dr. Sean
G'd up from tha feet up
Posts: 67
Developer

May 04, 2013, 16:15:11
In legendary-35a.wad map01, you can look out of the base and see the rendering of things on another part of the map. This does not happen in the normal odamex client, however it does happen in the new client whether you use 32bpp rendering or 8bpp.

Screenshot provided.

r3817 fixes this bug
Odamex Development Team Member
Logged View Profile | WWW
Ant P.
Posts: 69

May 04, 2013, 20:06:13


Slopes have a thin black line drawing around them that don't look quite right.
Has that wad been updated to newctf? Haven't played it in years...
Logged View Profile
HeX9109
Odamexican
Posts: 98
Administrator

May 04, 2013, 22:58:39
I am in the process of converting it to the CTF standard to work in Odamex. This new version is going to be called xtrmctf.wad
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Also join us at irc://irc.quakenet.org/odamex
Logged View Profile | WWW
Dr. Sean
G'd up from tha feet up
Posts: 67
Developer

May 06, 2013, 16:53:34
I have crashes on cybercrime3.wad with this client every 3 minutes or so. I use winXP.

Under certain circumstances, I was able to produce a crash firing the railgun on another map and I traced it back to an overflow bug with rendering particles (used to draw the rail). I was able to fix that bug which I believe to be the same bug you were experiencing.
Odamex Development Team Member
Logged View Profile | WWW
HeX9109
Odamexican
Posts: 98
Administrator

May 09, 2013, 19:03:16
anthctf map30 has a thin line of HOM in the sky.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 19:05:11 by HeX9109 »
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Also join us at irc://irc.quakenet.org/odamex
Logged View Profile | WWW
Pages: [1] Print
 
Jump to:

Page created in 0.041 seconds with 16 queries.