Message Boards

Topic: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?  (Read 8570 times)

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« on: January 09, 2013, 18:27:54 »
I would like to continue editing my maps in DOOM format, but have been considering experimenting with slopes.

Do I need to be in HEXEN format to do this, or is it possible to use slopes in DOOM format?

If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline Hekksy

  • Doomin' since '96
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 18:29:42 »
No, but you need to change the map configuration to ZDoom (Doom in Doom format)
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Check out the Odamex Discord as well: https://discord.gg/vHUu236

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 18:32:09 »
So no matter what, if I want to use slopes in my map I need to be in ZDOOM (DOOM in HEXEN format)?
If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline Hekksy

  • Doomin' since '96
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 19:21:14 »
No, use DOOM IN DOOM FORMAT
Join the Odamex Steam group! http://steamcommunity.com/groups/odamex
Check out the Odamex Discord as well: https://discord.gg/vHUu236

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2013, 20:26:15 »
Ha ha, you are confusing me. :)

If DOOM in DOOM format does not support sloped surfaces, then wouldn't I need to use DOOM in HEXEN format instead?
If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline Dr. Sean

  • Developer
  • Posts: 69
  • G'd up from tha feet up
    • View Profile
    • Odamex - Helping middle-aged men relive their teen years
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 20:50:45 »
The terminology that DoomBuilder uses for the format you want is "ZDoom (Doom in Doom Format)". The following are the numbers for the slope linedef specials in that format:

Code: [Select]
340:       // Slope the Floor in front of the line
341:       // Slope the Ceiling in front of the line
342:       // Slope the Floor+Ceiling in front of the line
343:       // Slope the Floor behind the line
344:       // Slope the Ceiling behind the line
345:       // Slope the Floor+Ceiling behind the line
346:       // Slope the Floor behind+Ceiling in front of the line
347:       // Slope the Floor in front+Ceiling behind the line
Odamex Development Team Member

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2013, 21:57:59 »
Thank you much!
If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2013, 14:11:32 »
Hmm, it appears that I do not need to edit in DOOM format at all! I feel like I'm the last to learn what I can do in regards to Odamex editing. :)
If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline Pseudoscientist

  • Posts: 43
  • Peanut gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2013, 02:46:22 »
Hmm, it appears that I do not need to edit in DOOM format at all! I feel like I'm the last to learn what I can do in regards to Odamex editing. :)
Be prepared for nasty surprises. :)
Sorry Guest, you are banned from using this forum!

Offline XDelusion

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2013, 11:13:34 »
Oh no...

And by "nasty surprises" do you mean I will find a lot of things that do not work as one might expect them to, do you mean a lot more features are soon to be supported in the next release, or do you mean to say that much of the work I am doing now might end up unsupported and the features I used commented out (or something) in the next release?!?

Tell me, I'm anxious to know!!! ;)
If we lost an eye we would be sad. So the Mother too is sad, and she'll end, and the world ends... - From the Heart of the World

Offline Pseudoscientist

  • Posts: 43
  • Peanut gallery
    • View Profile
Re: Creating Slopes in DOOM Format?
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2013, 23:56:02 »
Oh no...

And by "nasty surprises" do you mean I will find a lot of things that do not work as one might expect them to, do you mean a lot more features are soon to be supported in the next release, or do you mean to say that much of the work I am doing now might end up unsupported and the features I used commented out (or something) in the next release?!?

Tell me, I'm anxious to know!!! ;)
The first. I'm not aware of any features planned for removal
« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 00:00:36 by Pseudoscientist »
Sorry Guest, you are banned from using this forum!