Message Boards

Topic: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?  (Read 5259 times)

Offline Ralphis

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« on: August 31, 2008, 19:27:25 »
Windows users! Our friends over at the ioquake3 project seem to have solved the problem with SDL's "jerky" mouse movement.

Anybody who has had issues with the mouse in Odamex, please replace the Odamex packaged SDL with the following modified version and post your outcome. Those who have already tested have confirmed that the mouse is much, much better.

http://icculus.org/~tma/SDL.dll
« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 19:28:55 by Ralphis »

Offline exp(x)

  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2008, 19:33:13 »
I just updated the file on my box; all future win32 svn builds will include it.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 19:34:34 by exp(x) »

Offline leileilol

  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2008, 23:42:52 »
Nope, still sluggish. This sure works for OpenArena but not for Odamex
u

Offline Ralphis

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2008, 04:08:15 »
Nope, still sluggish. This sure works for OpenArena but not for Odamex

Of the 15 or so people to respond thus far you're the only negative reaction. What are your mouse settings and what OS are you running?

Offline Ant P.

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2008, 13:30:20 »
Completely unrelated question: Does zdoom use the same input code? Might explain why it's unplayable for me under wine...

Offline StasBFG[iddqd]

  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Doom Power
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2008, 15:42:55 »
Is this included in 1.2.13 or only SVN?

Offline exp(x)

  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2008, 12:00:55 »
Completely unrelated question: Does zdoom use the same input code? Might explain why it's unplayable for me under wine...
Why are you using zdoom under wine when it compiles on linux natively?

Offline Ralphis

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2008, 14:48:32 »
Completely unrelated question: Does zdoom use the same input code? Might explain why it's unplayable for me under wine...

The problem in Odamex was caused by SDL, which Zdoom does not use.

Offline Ant P.

  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: SDL Mouse Fixed for Windows Users?
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2008, 15:26:47 »
Why are you using zdoom under wine when it compiles on linux natively?
I already had Wine installed at the time and zdoom's code never played nice with my machine, so I just did the lazy thing.