Message Boards

Poll

Allow multiple key bindings?

Yes
8 (33.3%)
No
16 (66.7%)
Don't care
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 23

Topic: Allow multiple key bindings?  (Read 17827 times)

Offline Voxel

  • Developer
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Voxelsoft
Allow multiple key bindings?
« on: January 24, 2007, 17:47:16 »
Should the "bind" console command allow the binding of multiple functions to a single key?

See bug 277 for more details.

There has been conflicting feedback. Some people regard this as unfair, others as useful sr50 functionality. It is up to you, the players, to decide.

Offline Catoptromancy

  • Posts: 3
  • Member
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 18:08:21 »
Wont really matter if people use aliases to achieve same effect.

Offline excelblue

  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 18:08:45 »
They can press two keys at once if needed. It just doesn't make sense (for anything except cheating) to bind multiple actions to one key.

Offline deathz0r

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 62
  • kick it oldskewl
    • View Profile
    • deathz0r's Place of DOOM
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2007, 18:15:43 »
I'm going to vote "no" because this makes usage of SR50 rather trivial.

Offline Voxel

  • Developer
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Voxelsoft
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2007, 18:26:16 »
Wont really matter if people use aliases to achieve same effect.

It has been reported, according to the bug, that aliases don't work like that.

Offline AlexMax

  • Developer
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • AlexMax's Cesspool
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2007, 00:56:31 »
Voting no for the same reason.  Being able to SR50 so easily would essentially be cheating by oldschool standards.

Here's a page on how SR-50 automation is cheating from doom2.net: clicky, and also here

edit: updated link

edit2:
Quote
It's important to note that while the Strafe-On button is activated, both mouse movement from side to side and the normal turn-left and turn-right keys on the keyboard cease to be interpreted as a signal to turn the player, but instead are taken by Doom2 as a strafe command. This inability to immedietely turn artificially limits the reaction time and manuverability of a player (especially a mouse+keys configuration player) who is in Strafe-50 mode.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2007, 01:02:55 by AlexMax »

Offline RazTK

  • Posts: 11
  • Member
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2007, 01:02:35 »
No.

Offline Ralphis

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2007, 01:32:42 »
Does not comply. No

Offline Slayer

  • Posts: 32
  • Time to start piling up the bodies!
    • View Profile
    • DUI
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2007, 07:24:17 »
heh, yeah that isn't gonna happen... :D

Offline QuiescentWonder

  • Posts: 18
  • Member
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2007, 12:30:35 »
NO, but if it happens I vote that it's off be default.

Offline Voxel

  • Developer
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Voxelsoft
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2007, 15:22:05 »
That was quite a decisive no. Thanks, bug closed.

Offline GhostlyDeath

  • Posts: 25
  • Democrats will destroy this flag!
    • View Profile
    • ReMooD
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2007, 20:23:36 »
I would like to have multiple keys bound to keys...

Aliases are broke (not implemented) and I can not stand using a different key for Use and back and strafe + use on the mouse (double bound), I like to have my DOOM2.EXE  controls set up at all times in every port even Non doom FPS games!
ReMooD Project Leader - http://remood.sf.net/
Strawberry Doom Project Leader
Odamex Team Member

Offline Voxel

  • Developer
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Voxelsoft
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2007, 12:15:06 »
I would like to have multiple keys bound to keys...

the people voted against it, that case is closed

Aliases are broke (not implemented) and I can not stand using a different key for Use and back and strafe + use on the mouse (double bound), I like to have my DOOM2.EXE  controls set up at all times in every port even Non doom FPS games!

command aliases work fine, any bugs should be reported on our bugtracker


Offline Method

  • Posts: 3
  • Gambler
    • View Profile
    • borec :)
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2007, 14:05:03 »
I know case is closed but i haven't time to reply until now..

I would really appreciate if you guys re-consider your decision..Here some facts :

1, Every "famous" doom-port allow multiple key bindings and it has reason - It's really helpfull for sr50 and by this way use it every single players (coop..)

2, Most used port nowadays Zdaemon allow it so a lots of players are acustomed to binding sr50 etc.

3, I thought Odamex want to be at full blast similar as doom2.exe...

Again sorry for reply to closedc case but if you ask anyone from single-player community i'm pretty sure that they would vote "Yes"..

Offline switcher

  • Posts: 4
  • Lan party in the snow.
    • View Profile
Re: Allow multiple key bindings?
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2007, 15:51:09 »
While DooM may have originated as single player, let's face it, the vast majority of us are here for multiplayer.
Everyone has stated the obvious, I second, third, millionth whatever the sentiment.
I didn't learn how to SR-50 just to have some bug come along and let short fingered noobs off the hook with multiple bind keys.
No way!
Remember, even though the balloting is officially closed, continue to vote NO and continue to vote OFTEN! ;)
If you are caught or killed, the secretary will disavow any knowledge of your actions.